## MALTA POSTAL BOXES

Dr A Bonnici

## Origin of Pillar and wall letter boxes

The Malta Post Office Notice of 8th June 1853 mentions, interalia, that boxes for the reception of letters and newspapers would be sited at the Post Office in Valletta and at Chief Police Stations throughout the Island. The boxes at police stations were only wooden receptacles inside the stations where there was also a glazed frame where letters for delivery were displayed.

The Government of Malta in 1860 decided to erect letter boxes in different parts of Valletta. The Post Office Guide of 1862 contains information regarding the location of the boxes in Valletta, Floriana and Sliema; boxes were at the following Chief Police Stations:-

Asciak (1)	Gudia (7)	Senglea
Attard	Lia	Siggieui (14)
Balzan	Luca (8)	St. Julian's
Birchirchara (2)	Micabbiba (9)	Tarxien
Chircop (3)	Misida (10)	Vittoriosa
Cospicua	Musta (11)	Zabbar
Crendi (4)	Naxaro (12)	Zebbug
Curmi (5)	Paola (13)	Zeitun (15)
Gargur (6)	Safi	Zurrico (16)
These villages have been renamed thus:-		
(1) Hal Għaxaq	(7) Gudja	(12) Naxxar
(2) Birkirkara	(8) Ħal Luqa	(13) Paola
(3) Hal Kirkop	(9) Mqabba	(14) Siģģiewi
(4) Qrendi	(10) Msida	(15) Żejtun
(5) Hal Qormi	(11) Mosta	(16) Żurrieq
(6) Għargħur		

Letter boxes were also installed at Gozo and their locations are thought to be Caccia, Garbo, Ghain Slielem, Nadur, and Sannat. Xeuchia is the present name of Caccia. (For more details see Malta study paper No 12.)

Ð

Malta Government Gazette No 2061, of 16 November 1860, among postal information also mentions the provision of the first Pillar and wall letter boxes in various places at Valletta, Floriana, Cospicua, Senglea, and Vittoriosa.

Draft new detailed information inscriptions, for wall and pillar letter boxes were drafted on the 21 March 1887. Before collecting and delivery detailed information was drafted, timing between each box was done.



## The Hon Ferdinand Inglott 1.1.81 - 31.3.92. Post Master General

ų,

Courtesy of Malta Postal Museum